New Book Releases – September 13, 2022


Here we go again! Check out the new (and anticipated) book releases for this week. Here is a preview of 17 books that are released today so that you can make plans on which one you want to read first! Of course, there are more books released this week, this is just a small preview!

Let us know which books you have been waiting for!

1 I’m the Girl by Courtney Summers

Genre:   Fiction / Teen & Young Adult LGBTQ+ 
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Pages: 339
Format:  Hardcover, Audiobook, and eBook 

Premise of the book:  All sixteen-year-old Georgia Avis wants is everything, but the poverty and hardship that defines her life has kept her from the beautiful and special things she knows she deserves. When she stumbles upon the dead body of thirteen-year-old Ashley James, Georgia teams up with Ashley's older sister Nora, to find the killer before he strikes again, and their investigation throws Georgia into a glittering world of unimaginable privilege and wealth--and all she's ever dreamed. But behind every dream lurks a nightmare, and Georgia must reconcile her heart's desires with what it really takes to survive. As Ashley's killer closes in and their feelings for one another grow, Georgia and Nora will discover when money, power, and beauty rule, it's not always a matter of who is guilty but who is guiltiest--and the only thing that might save them is each other.

2. The Depths by Nicole Lesperance

Genre:  Fiction / Teen & Young Adult Magical Realism 
Publisher ‏ : Razorbill
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook, and Audiobook
Premise of this novel:  A tropical island full of secrets. Two Victorian ghosts, trapped for eternity. And a seventeen-year-old girl determined not to be next.

3. Wishtress by Nadine Brandes

Genre:  Fiction / Teen & Young Adult Clean & Wholesome Romance
Publisher ‏ : ‎Thomas Nelson
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover, Audiobook, and eBook

Premise of this book: She didn’t ask to be the Wishtress.

Myrthe was born with the ability to turn her tears into wishes. But when a granted wish goes wrong, she is cursed: the next tear she sheds will kill her. She must travel to the Well to break the curse before it can claim her life—and before the king’s militairen find her. To survive the journey, Myrthe must harden her heart to keep herself from crying even a single tear.

4. Lessons: A Novel by Ian McEwan

Genre:  Fiction / Coming of Age Fiction 
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Knopf 
Pages: 448
Format:  Hardcover,  Paperback, Audiobook, and eBook

The premise of the book is: From the best-selling author of Atonement and Saturday comes the epic and intimate story of one man's life across generations and historical upheavals. From the Suez Crisis to the Cuban Missile Crisis, the fall of the Berlin Wall to the current pandemic, Roland Baines sometimes rides with the tide of history, but more often struggles against it.

5. The Butcher and The Wren: A Novel by Alaina Urquhart

Genre:  Fiction / Serial Killer Thrillers
Publisher :  Zando
Pages: 256
Format:  Hardcover, Audiobook, and Kindle

The Premise of the book is below:  From the co-host of chart-topping true crime podcast Morbid, a thrilling debut novel told from the dueling perspectives of a notorious serial killer and the medical examiner following where his trail of victims leads

6. People Person by Candice Carty-Williams

Genre:  Fiction / Friendship Fiction 
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Gallery/Scout Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook and Audiobook

The Premise of the book is below:  She’s thirty, and her life isn’t really going anywhere. An aspiring lifestyle influencer with a terrible and wayward boyfriend, Dimple’s life has shrunk to the size of a phone screen. And despite a small but loyal following, she’s never felt more alone in her life. That is, until a dramatic event brings her half siblings Nikisha, Danny, Lizzie, and Prynce crashing back into her life. And when they’re all forced to reconnect with Cyril Pennington, the absent father they never really knew, things get even more complicated.

7. Prisoners of the Castle: An Epic Story of Survival and Escape from Colditz, the Nazis’ Fortress Prison by Ben Macintyre 

Genre:  World History
Publisher ‏ : Crown
Pages: 264
Format:  Hardcover, Paperback, eBook, and Audiobook
The Premise of the book: Prisoners of the Castle traces the war’s arc from within Colditz’s stone walls, where the stakes rose as Hitler’s war machine faltered and the men feared that liberation would not come soon enough to spare them a grisly fate at the hands of the Nazis. Bringing together the wartime intrigue of his acclaimed Operation Mincemeat and keen psychological portraits of his bestselling true-life spy stories, Macintyre has breathed new life into one of the greatest war stories ever told.

8. The Book Haters’ Book Club: A Novel by Gretchen Anthony

Genre:  Fiction / Humorous and Satire Fiction
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Park Row; Original edition
Pages: 352
Format:  Hardcover,  Paperback, eBook, Audiobook

The Premise of the book is: Filled with humor, family hijinks and actual reading recommendations, The Book Haters' Book Club is the ideal feel-good read. It’s a love letter to everyday heroes—those booksellers and librarians dedicated to putting the right books in the right hands every day.

9. How Not to Drown in a Glass of Water: A Novel by Angie Cruz

Genre:  Fiction / Hispanic American Literature
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Flatiron Books
Pages:  195 
Format: Hardcover, Audiobook, and eBook 

The Premise of the book is: Cara Romero thought she would work at the factory of little lamps for the rest of her life. But when, in her mid-50s, she loses her job in the Great Recession, she is forced back into the job market for the first time in decades. Set up with a job counselor, Cara instead begins to narrate the story of her life. Over the course of twelve sessions, Cara recounts her tempestuous love affairs, her alternately biting and loving relationships with her neighbor Lulu and her sister Angela, her struggles with debt, gentrification and loss, and, eventually, what really happened between her and her estranged son, Fernando. As Cara confronts her darkest secrets and regrets, we see a woman buffeted by life but still full of fight.

10. The Mosquito Bowl: A Game of Life and Death in World War II by Buzz Bissinger

Genre: American Military History
Publisher: Harper
Pages: 480
Format:   Hardcover , eBook, and audiobook

The premise of the book is:  Within a matter of months, 15 of the 65 players in “The Mosquito Bowl” would be killed at Okinawa, by far the largest number of American athletes ever to die in a single battle. The Mosquito Bowl is the story of these brave and beautiful young men, those who survived and those who did not.  It is the story of the families and the landscape that shaped them. It is a story of a far more innocent time in both college athletics and the life of the country, and of the loss of that innocence.  

11. All That’s Left Unsaid: A Novel by Tracey Lien

Genre:  Fiction /  Asian American Literature & Fiction
Publisher ‏ : William Morrow
Pages: 300
Format:  Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook, and eBook
 The Premise of the book is: Alternating between Ky’s voice and the perspectives of the witnesses, Tracey Lien’s extraordinary debut is at once heart-pounding and heart-rending as it probes the intricate bonds of friendship, family, and community through an unforgettable cast of characters, all connected by a devastating crime. Combining evocative family drama and gripping suspense, All That’s Left Unsaid is a profound and moving page turner, perfect for readers of Liz Moore, Brit Bennett, and Celeste Ng.

12. The Enigma of Room 622: A Novel by Joël Dicker

Genre:  Fiction / International Mystery & Crime
Publisher ‏ : ‎ HarperVia
Pages: 574
Format: Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook,  and eBook

The Premise of the book is:  A burnt-out writer’s retreat at a fancy Swiss hotel is interrupted by a murder mystery in this metafictional, meticulously crafted whodunit from the New York Times bestselling author of The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair.

13. They Come at Knight (Nena Knight Book 2) by Yasmin Angoe

Genre:  Fiction / Political Thrillers & Suspense
Publisher:  Thomas & Mercer
Pages: 365
Format: Hardcover, Audiobook, and eBook

The Premise of the Book: Yasmin Angoe’s They Come at Knight is the heart-pounding second installment in the Nena Knight series about an intrepid female assassin who will stop at nothing to protect her family.

14. Dinners with Ruth: A Memoir on the Power of Friendships by Nina Totenberg

Genre: Lawyer & Judge Biographies
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook, and eBook
The Premise of the book: Celebrated NPR correspondent Nina Totenberg delivers an extraordinary memoir of her personal successes, struggles, and life-affirming relationships, including her beautiful friendship of nearly fifty years with Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

15. What If? 2: Additional Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions by Randall Munroe

Genre: Science Essays & Commentary 
Publisher : Riverhead Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardback, and eBook

The Premise of this book: Before you go on a cosmic road trip, feed the residents of New York City to a T. rex, or fill every church with bananas, be sure to consult this practical guide for impractical ideas. Unfazed by absurdity, Munroe consults the latest research on everything from swing-set physics to airliner catapult–design to answer his readers’ questions, clearly and concisely, with illuminating and occasionally terrifying illustrations. As he consistently demonstrates, you can learn a lot from examining how the world might work in very specific extreme circumstances.

16. Life’s Work: A Memoir by David Milch

Genre:   Artist Biographies
Publisher : Random House
Pages: 304
Format: Hardback and eBook and Audiobook

The Premise of this book: The creator of Deadwood and NYPD Blue reflects on his tumultuous life, driven by a nearly insatiable creative energy and a matching penchant for self-destruction. Life’s Work is a profound memoir from a brilliant mind taking stock as Alzheimer’s loosens his hold on his own past.

17. From Saturday Night to Sunday Night: My Forty Years of Laughter, Tears, and Touchdowns in TV by Dick Ebersol

Genre:  Media & Communications Industry
Publisher : Simon & Schuster
Pages: 384
Format: Hardback and eBook and Audiobook

The Premise of this book: From Saturday Night to Sunday Night is filled with entertaining and illuminating stories featuring such boldface names as Billy Crystal, Michael Jordan, Bill Clinton, Jay Leno, Peyton Manning, Michael Phelps and Larry David. (Ebersol even inspired the famous Seinfeld episode in which George Costanza pretends he didn’t quit his job.) More than that, the book offers an insightful history and analysis of TV’s evolution from broadcast to cable and beyond—a must read for casual binge-watchers and small-screen aficionados alike.

So there you have it and plenty to choose from.  Were you waiting for any of these new releases?  Hope you have a great week and that the time goes slow enough for you to read more than usual!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: