New Book Releases – September 6, 2022


Here we go again! Check out the new (and anticipated) book releases for this week. Here is a preview of 17 books that are released today so that you can make plans on which one you want to read first! Of course, there are more books released this week, this is just a small preview!

Let us know which books you have been waiting for!

1 The Opera Sisters by Marianne Monson

Genre:   Fiction / World War II Historical 
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Pages: 352
Format:  Hardcover, Audiobook, and eBook 

Premise of the book:  Based on the true story of the Cook sisters, who smuggled valuables out of 1930s Nazi Germany to finance a daring, secret operation to help Jews find hope for a new life in England.  The Opera Sisters is a riveting and inspiring novel of two unlikely heroines whose courage and compassion gave hope to many Jews desperate to escape Nazi persecution.

2. The Two Lives of Sara: A Novel by Catherine Adel West

Genre:  Fiction / Black & African American Historical Fiction
Publisher ‏ : Park Row
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook, and Audiobook
Premise of this novel:  A young mother finds refuge and friendship at a boardinghouse in 1960s Memphis, Tennessee, where family encompasses more than just blood and hidden truths can bury you or set you free.  With a charismatic cast of characters, The Two Lives of Sara is an emotional and unforgettable story of hope, resilience, and unexpected love.

3. Fairy Tale by Stephen King

Genre:  Fiction / Supernatural Thrillers 
Publisher ‏ : ‎Scribner
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover, Audiobook, and eBook

Premise of this book: Legendary storyteller Stephen King goes into the deepest well of his imagination in this spellbinding novel about a seventeen-year-old boy who inherits the keys to a parallel world where good and evil are at war, and the stakes could not be higher—for that world or ours.

4. The Marriage Portrait: A novel by Maggie O’Farrell

Genre:  Fiction / Renaissance Historical Fiction 
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Knopf 
Pages: 353
Format:  Hardcover,  Paperback, Audiobook, and eBook

The premise of the book is: Full of the beauty and emotion with which she illuminated the Shakespearean canvas of Hamnet, Maggie O’Farrell turns her talents to Renaissance Italy in an extraordinary portrait of a resilient young woman’s battle for her very survival.

5. Monsters Born and Made by Tanvi Berwah

Genre:  Fiction / Teen & Young Adult Fantasy Action & Adventure
Publisher : Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 352
Format:  Hardcover, Audiobook, and Kindle

The Premise of the book is below:  Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and These Violent Delights, this South Asian-inspired fantasy is a gripping debut about the power of the elite, the price of glory, and one girl's chance to change it all.
Sixteen-year-old Koral and her older brother Emrik risk their lives each day to capture the monstrous maristags that live in the black seas around their island. They have to, or else their family will starve.

6. Angelika Frankenstein Makes Her Match: A Novel by Sally Thorne

Genre:  Fiction / Gothic Romance
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Avon
Pages: 389
Format: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook and Audiobook

The Premise of the book is below:  Filled with carriages, candlesticks, and corpses, Angelika Frankenstein Makes Her Match is the spooky-season reimagining of the well-known classic that reminds us to never judge a man by his cadaver!

7. Skirts: Fashioning Modern Femininity in the Twentieth Century by Kimberly Chrisman-Campbell

Genre:  20th Century World History
Publisher ‏ : St. Martin's Press
Pages: 264
Format:  Hardcover, eBook, and Audiobook
The Premise of the book: In a sparkling, beautifully illustrated social history, Skirts traces the shifting roles of women over the twentieth century through the era’s most iconic and influential dresses.

8. The Boy with the Bookstore by Sarah Echavarre Smith

Genre:  Fiction / Multicultural & Interracial Romance
Publisher ‏ : ‎  Berkley
Pages: 332
Format:  Hardcover,  Paperback, eBook, Audiobook

The Premise of the book is: When a baker meets the bookshop owner of her dreams, and he turns into her nemesis, they’ll both have to read between the lines to avoid a career-ending recipe for disaster..

9. Killers of a Certain Age by Deanna Raybourn

Genre:  Fiction / Espionage Thrillers 
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Berkley
Pages:  365 
Format: Hardcover, Audiobook, and eBook 

The Premise of the book is: They’ve spent their lives as the deadliest assassins in a clandestine international organization, but now that they're sixty years old, four women friends can’t just retire – it’s kill or be killed in this action-packed thriller by New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-nominated author Deanna Raybourn.

10. Africa Is Not a Country: Notes on a Bright Continent by Dipo Faloyin

Genre: History of Africa
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 343
Format:   Hardcover , eBook, and audiobook

The premise of the book is:  The stories Faloyin shares are by turns joyful and enraging; proud and optimistic for the future even while they unequivocally confront the obstacles systematically set in place by former colonial powers. Brimming with humor and wit, filled with political insights, and, above all, infused with a deep love for the region, Africa Is Not a Country celebrates the energy and particularity of the continent’s different cultures and communities, treating Africa with the respect it deserves.

11. The Fortunes of Jaded Women: A Novel by Carolyn Huynh

Genre:  Fiction /  Asian American Literature 
Publisher ‏ : Atria Books
Pages: 271
Format:  Hardcover, Audiobook, and eBook
 The Premise of the book is: A multi-narrative novel brimming with levity and candor, The Fortunes of Jaded Women is about mourning, meddling, celebrating, and healing together as a family. It shows how Vietnamese women emerge victorious, even if the world is against them.

12. Lizzie Blake’s Best Mistake: A Novel by Mazey Eddings

Genre:  Fiction / Romantic Comedy
Publisher ‏ : ‎ St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 332
Format:  Paperback, Audiobook,  and eBook

The Premise of the book is:  Through a series of mishaps, totally “platonic” single bed sharing, and an underground erotic baking scheme, Lizzie and Rake learn that even the biggest mistakes can have the most beautiful consequences.

13. The Attic Child: A Novel by Lola Jaye

Genre:  Fiction / Black & African American Historical Fiction 
Publisher:  William Morrow
Pages: 467
Format: Hardcover, Audiobook, and eBook

The Premise of the Book: Two children trapped in the same attic, almost a century apart, bound by a shared secret.  A hauntingly powerful and emotionally charged novel about family secrets, love and loss, identity and belonging.

14. On the Rooftop: A Novel by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

Genre: Fiction / Black & African American Historical Fiction
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Ecco
Pages: 300
Format: Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook, and eBook
The Premise of the book: A stunning novel about a mother whose dream of musical stardom for her three daughters collides with the daughters’ ambitions for their own lives—set against the backdrop of gentrifying 1950s San Francisco.  The neighborhood is changing, too: all around the Fillmore, white men in suits are approaching Black property owners with offers. One sister finds herself called to fight back, one falls into the comfort of an old relationship, another yearns to make her own voice heard. And Vivian, who has always maintained control, will have to confront the parts of her life that threaten to splinter: the community, The Salvations, and even her family.

15. Dinner in One: Exceptional & Easy One-Pan Meals: A Cookbook by Melissa Clark

Genre: Cookbook
Publisher : Clarkson Potter
Pages: 251
Format: Hardback, and eBook

The Premise of this book: 100 all-new super-simple and incredibly delicious one-pot, one-pan, one-sheet—one-everything!—recipes from the New York Times star food writer and bestselling author of Dinner in French.  These are simple, delicious recipes for weekdays, busy evenings, and any time you need to get a delicious, inspiring meal on the table quickly—with as little clean-up as possible.

16. One Hundred Saturdays: Stella Levi and the Search for a Lost World by Michael Frank

Genre:   Jewish Biographies & Memoirs
Publisher : Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster
Pages: 235
Format: Hardback and eBook

The Premise of this book: The remarkable story of ninety-nine-year-old Stella Levi whose conversations with the writer Michael Frank over the course of six years bring to life the vibrant world of Jewish Rhodes, the deportation to Auschwitz that extinguished ninety percent of her community, and the resilience and wisdom of the woman who lived to tell the tale.

17. Status and Culture: How Our Desire for Social Rank Creates Taste, Identity, Art, Fashion, and Constant Change by W. David Marx

Genre:  Popular Culture in Social Sciences
Publisher : Viking
Pages: 368
Format: Hardback and eBook

The Premise of this book: Status and Culture is a book that will appeal to business people, students, creators, and anyone who has ever wondered why things become popular, why their own preferences change over time, and how identity plays out in contemporary society. Readers of this book will walk away with deep and lasting knowledge of the often secret rules of how culture really works.

So there you have it and plenty to choose from.  Were you waiting for any of these new releases?  Hope you have a great week and that the time goes slow enough for you to read more than usual!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: