New Book Releases – November 23, 2021

Here we go again! Check out the new (and anticipated) book releases for this week. Below is a good compilation of Fiction and Nonfiction books that go out on sale on November 23. Let us know which books you have been waiting for!

These Precious Days by Ann Patchett

Genre:  Essays 
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Harper 
Publish date: November 23, 2021

The beloved New York Times bestselling author reflects on home, family, friendships and writing in this deeply personal collection of essays.  

“Any story that starts will also end.” As a writer, Ann Patchett knows what the outcome of her fiction will be. Life, however, often takes turns we do not see coming. Patchett ponders this truth in these wise essays that afford a fresh and intimate look into her mind and heart. 

Go Tell the Bees that I am Gone by Diana Gabaldon

Genre:  Fiction - Romance - Fantasy
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Delacorte Press 
Publish date: November 23, 2021
#1 New York Times bestselling author Diana Gabaldon returns with the newest novel in the epic Outlander series.
 
The past may seem the safest place to be . . . but it is the most dangerous time to be alive. . . .
 
Jamie Fraser and Claire Randall were torn apart by the Jacobite Rising in 1746, and it took them twenty years to find each other again. Now the American Revolution threatens to do the same.

The Last One: a Novel by Fatima Daas

https://amzn.to/3DCelKN
Genre:  Fiction - Coming of Age - Historical -  LGBTQ+
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Other Press 
Publish on: November 23, 2021

Drawn from the author’s experiences growing up in a Paris banlieue, a powerful, lyric debut that explores the diverse, often conflicting facets of her identity—French, Algerian, Muslim, lesbian.

This extraordinary first novel, anchored and buoyed by the refrain “My name is Fatima,” is a vital portrait of a young woman finding herself in a modern world full of contradictions. Daas’s journey to living her sexuality in spite of expectations about who she should be offers a powerful perspective on the queer experience.

Cytonic (The Skyward Series) by Brandon Sanderson

https://amzn.to/30LIpFv
Genre: Teen and Young Adult - Science Fiction
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Delacorte Press 
Publish on: November 23, 2021

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Reckoners series, the Mistborn trilogy, and the Stormlight Archive comes the third book in an epic series about a girl who will travel beyond the stars to save the world she loves from destruction.

Luxury: A History by Jill Spalding

https://amzn.to/3oLEKzq
Genre:  Antiques and Collectibles / Travel / Nonfiction
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Parameter Press
Publish on: November 23, 2021
A sweeping history of luxury—from the pharaohs to the plutocrats—celebrating the quintessential role of opulence in human evolution

From diamonds to Daimlers, a garden planted with porcelain roses, a mantle sewn with 45,000 feathers, a staircase fashioned of crystal, and tea served in a $36 million cup, here is luxury as pleasure, luxury as splendor, and luxury as beyond. Across fourteen chapters longtime Vogueeditor Jill Spalding chronicles what luxury entailed for such of history’s icons as Cleopatra, Charlemagne, Kublai Khan, Montezuma, Elizabeth I, Marie de’ Medici, Louis XIV, Shah Jahan, and the Emperor Qianlong. Discover how luxury flourished the table, the arts, travel, and architecture; how luxury drove fashion, marked politics, and advanced religion.

Murakami T: The T-Shirts I Love by Haruki Murakami

https://amzn.to/3oJJjud
Genre:  Essays / Fashion / Photography - Nonfiction
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Knopf 
Publish on:  November 23, 2021
The international literary icon opens his eclectic closet: Here are photographs of Murakami’s extensive and personal T-shirt collection, accompanied by essays that reveal a side of the writer rarely seen by the public. 

In Murakami T, the famously reclusive novelist shows us his T-shirts—from concert shirts to never-worn whiskey-themed Ts, and from beloved bookstore swag to the shirt that inspired the iconic short story "Tony Takitani." These photographs are paired with short, frank essays that include Murakami's musings on the joy of drinking Guinness in local pubs across Ireland, the pleasure of eating a burger upon arrival in the United States, and Hawaiian surf culture in the 1980s.

Medusa’s Ankles: Selected Stories by A.S. Byatt

https://amzn.to/3x9ots3
Genre:  Fiction - Short Stories / Gothic
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Knopf 
Publish on: November 23, 2021
A ravishing, luminous selection of short stories from the prize-winning imagination of A. S. Byatt, "a storyteller who could keep a sultan on the edge of his throne for a thousand and one nights" (The New York Times Book Review). With an introduction by David Mitchell, best-selling author of Cloud Atlas

Medusa's Ankles celebrates the very best of A. S. Byatt's short fiction, carefully selected from a lifetime of writing. Peopled by artists, poets, and fabulous creatures, the stories blaze with creativity and color. From ancient myth to a British candy factory, from a Chinese restaurant to a Mediterranean swimming pool, from a Turkish bazaar to a fairy-tale palace, Byatt transports her readers beyond the veneer of the ordinary—even beyond the gloss of the fantastical—to places rich and strange and wholly unforgettable.

Blood in the Water: A True Story of Small-Town Revenge by Donald Silver Cameron

https://amzn.to/3HBTLN3
Genre:  Historical Biography - Nonfiction
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Steerforth 
Publish on: November 23, 2021
The ultimate guide to choosing ingredients, developing your palate, mixing drA masterfully told true story, perfect for fans of Say Nothing and Furious Hours: a brutal murder in a small Nova Scotia fishing community raises urgent questions of right and wrong, and even the very nature of good and evil.

In his riveting and meticulously reported final book, Silver Donald Cameron offers a stunning, intricate narrative about a notorious killing and its devastating repercussions.
 
Cameron’s searing, utterly gripping story about one small community raises a disturbing question: Are there times when taking the law into your own hands is not only understandable but the responsible thing to do?

The Wakeful Body: Somatic Mindfulness as a Path to Freedom by Willa Blythe Baker

https://amzn.to/3x4AGOA
Genre:  Meditation / New Age - Nonfiction
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Shambhala 
Publish on: November 23, 2021

A highly practical and approachable guide to somatic meditation with easy practices for accessing the body’s inherent mindfulness, from an expert in somatic meditation.

Tap into the wisdom of the body with down-to-earth practices like “Surrendering to the Breath” and “Befriending Feelings” that allow the body to become the source of mindfulness. Willa Blythe Baker introduces meditation practice as the cultivation of a way of being, rather than a way of doing. It is a way of being that is self-aware, self-compassionate, and embodied. This way of being is not limited to practice on the cushion or on the yoga mat–somatic mindfulness is available at any moment, activated by attention to the body’s wisdom and its teachings.

So there you have it and plenty to choose from.   I have two on my radar and will be getting them soon.  What about you? Were you waiting for any of these new releases?  Hope you have a great week and that the time goes slow enough for you to read more than the usual!

One response to “New Book Releases – November 23, 2021”

  1. I love book recommendations. Thanks for sharing! My daughter would love one of these books listed.
    ~Michelle
    https://michellescrazybusylife.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: